The Water’s Edge

Each year Stroud™ Water Research Center hosts its gala in celebration of our most precious resource — water. This special evening allows us to bring together our friends and neighbors whose support is critical to our endeavors. Proceeds from the evening support the Center’s freshwater research, restoration, and education programs.

Presented at The Water’s Edge gala each year since 2011, the Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence, also known as the SAFE Water Award, is a prestigious award for outstanding achievement in freshwater-related activities. The award, which includes a sculpture specially designed and created by Simon Pearce Inc., honors individuals, institutions, or organizations whose work contributes broadly to the conservation and protection of freshwater resources and ecosystems, to improving the quantity and quality of fresh water on the planet, or to developing policies and practices which help perpetuate clean fresh water for future generations of humans and wildlife.

Save the Date!

Please join us for The Water’s Edge and presentation of the 2014 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence on Thursday, October 23 at Longwood Gardens.

To receive notification of event updates, please subscribe to our e-news.

Tickets On Sale Now!

Lead Sponsorship (10 Seats) $10,000

Key Sponsorship (6 Seats)

Individual Ticket

Individual, Age 21-40

Presenting Sponsor

Wilmington Trust

Jane Lubchenco

2013 SAFE Award Recipient Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D. former Under Secretary of Commerce for the National Oceans and Atmosphere Administration (NOAA)

Kathryn Sullivan

2013 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence Recipient Kathryn Sullivan, Ph.D., Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and NOAA Administrator

John Briscoe received the 2012 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence

2012 SAFE Award Recipient John Briscoe, Ph.D. Director, Harvard Water Security Initiative; founding member World Water Council, Global Water Partnership, World Commission on Dams

Olivia Newton-John and John Easterling receive the 2011 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence from Director Bernard Sweeney

2011 SAFE Award Recipients Olivia Newton-John and John Easterling. Supporters of rainforest conservation and renowned for work in conserving the Amazon River watershed

Peter Gleick

2010 Peter Gleick. Co-founder and president of the Pacific Institute, author, MacArthur Fellow, and member of the US National Academy of Sciences

Ian Hutton

2009 Ian Hutton. Island naturalist and conservationist, researcher, eco-tourism pioneer, keeper of the UNESCO World Heritage site, Lord Howe Island

Flip Nicklin

2008 Flip Nicklin, National Geographic contributing photographer, founder of The Whale Trust

Kris Tompkins

2007 Kristine McDivitt Tompkins. Former CEO of Patagonia, Inc., founder, Conservación Patagónica and Conservation Land Trust

Wangari Maathai

2006 Wangari Maathai. Founder, The Green Belt Movement, 2004 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, author

William McDonough

2005 William McDonough, Architect and founding principal of William McDonough + Partners 2007 Time magazine “Hero of the Environment”

Sylvia Earle

2004 Dr. Sylvia Earle. Marine biologist, National Geographic Society Explorer-in-Residence, former chief NOAA scientist

Jane Goodall and Bernard Sweeney

2003 Dr. Jane Goodall. Primatologist, author, founder of The Jane Goodall Institute, mentor, United Nations Messenger of Peace